Catalog Number: NE-2

Album Description

Tariqa means “The Path” in traditional Sufism. My own path, that of the universal trans-cultural modern age seeker, however, the Tariqa of music, so to speak, consisted mainly of running away from noise. I never wanted to go electric in live performances. And when with the synthesizer, New Age, Space music and Ambient came along, it was never endless drones or overpowering science fiction “soundscapes”.  Instead, that which provided for me a magical translation into a world of subtle sonic poetry were softer, shorter pieces in a confined interior. Ambient, the sonic wallpaper, according to ambient prophet Eno – that which “allows the listener to work, read or fall asleep”, wasn´t really mine either, for the sitar is a jealous mistress. Because, you see, in an intimate interior ambience, where a declaration of love is made, she wants your attention fully.

For years it has been a recurring dream of mine. It has overwhelmed me during the REM phase of midnight sleep. In this dream I am playing a piece of music of such immense beauty and grace that it cuts through all the levels and obstacles of the music business like a hot knife through butter. And despite the quiet soles on which it came along, it was a melody of such cheeky idiosyncrasy, perfection, of irresistible power and sweetness that without marketing and sponsorship on the marketplace it was able to forge its way. Never happened, of course. But finally, much later, when I managed to create a few pieces which, in spite of all the self-criticism and phases of despair, I couldn’t tell you how these tracks had come about, couldn´t say just how I had done it, or who was helping me behind the scenes: It was not merely through the transgression of cultures that it happened, more like inside steering, simplicity, and keeping the volume low.

And when, sometime during the Mid-eighties, Vilayat Khan, the King of Sitar, called me his own, and upon my further enquiry as to whether some magic Indian sorcerer had provided him the power of that magic melody that made the listeners brake out in tears of joy, he simply replied “My religion is music.” – Al Gromer Khan

Track Info

1. Dior |  (9:31)

2. Solace | (5:02)

3. To Wounded Souls |  (2:55)

4. Silent Zikr | (6:29)

5. Crush | (3:21)

6. Slow Drum from the Old Mountain | (4:25)

7. Caeli Caelorum |  (4:00)

8. On Atlantium  |  (9:41)

9. To the Honor of My Soul |  (5:01)

10. Parade |  (4:45)